Twenty and Feeling Fine

Two months ago, I turned twenty-years-old. The weeks between then and now have been a flurry of finals, graduations, and celebrations. In the midst of it all, I have been reflecting a LOT on what crossing the threshold into my twenties means for me. As I waded through these musings on my age, I thought I might share them with the world. I’d like to make my blog posts more regular (hopefully weekly) so I can develop my writing skills. So, without further ado, below are twenty musings of mine on being twenty-years-old. 

20. I am no longer a teenager! Thanks be to God – the teenage years were difficult. I am over and done with teen angst. 

19. I can say that I have lived in two different millennium, two different centuries, and three different decades which is pretty weird when I stop and think about it.

18. A lot of people credit their twenties as the best decade of their life. I don’t know if this will prove true in my case, but I’m looking forward to the next decade!

17. I’m on the threshold of growing up. I have still got some time before I fully enter the adult world, and I am glad for the breathing room in my process of maturation.

16. I am halfway through my college undergraduate years! This is both amazing and terrifying.

15. I have so much enthusiasm about learning about myself and the world around me. Though I have plenty on my plate, I do not yet have the cares that adults in the working world have. I have the blessing to learn more about myself and the world I live in during this time of my life.

14. Living in hope is essential for me. Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI said, “The one who has hope lives differently.” I want to live differently than the masses who live in despair.

13. I have time to figure myself out. I’m only twenty, and I have (God-willing) time to discern the options for my future life.

12. Honestly, saying twenty rather than nineteen sounds more sophisticated and I enjoy that. 

11. Though my life so far has been tumultuous at times, I have been given a lot of perspective from my experiences. I have an abundance of experiences to reflect on and glean from.

10. It’s been six years since I truly began a personal relationship with Christ. Six! How much I’ve learned about Him and myself in these six years.

9. I appreciate that I’ve made it to twenty years of age because apparently I made a very dramatic and difficult entrance into the world.

8. My circumstances in life are such that not only are my basic needs met, but I have manifold blessings that I do not strictly “need.”

7. From the womb, my mother began a literary love in me that I continue to foster. Books have taught me invaluable lessons and taken me on many adventures. There are so many books I have yet to read – and a lifetime to read them! May the bibliophilia continue for all my days!

6. I have learned that adults don’t have life figured out either, so the pressure to have it all together all the time has dissipated.

5. I’m due for a quarter-life crisis. QUARTER LIFE. Woweee.

4. I feel like I’ve come so far, and yet, I still feel like a baby. It is a bewildering precipice that I stand on. 

3. I have learned SO MUCH in college thus far. I can’t wait for all the amazing things I’ll learn in and out of the classroom in the years to come. 

2. I may be young, but I have been given so much. I want to use what I have been given to glorify God in all I do whether it be in school, at home, in the Church, or my relationships with others. 

1. I am surrounded by beautiful people. My friends worked really hard this year to make the celebration of my existence on my birthday really special for me. My family loves me unconditionally. I was beyond BLESSED to celebrate my twentieth birthday on Easter Sunday. Christ gave all for me, and I want to use this life to give all for Him. 

Leave a Reply

